Happy Birthday To Us!!

Today is Beauty Guerrillas first birthday!

Last year was a tricky one for me. It started out great, I graduated top of my year in postgraduate fashion journalism at The London College of Fashion and started freelancing for Tara Palmer Tomkinson’s online glossy, Three’s A Crowd. After a while I was told they would like to make me fashion and beauty editor in a couple of months. Then the recession arrived full force – the website started to struggle and I lost the job before I even reached the desk. Shortly later the site had to close and with it went the bulk of my freelancing career.

After a job hunt I found out I had a new job on an American lifestyle site, but I didn’t agree with some of their policies and found myself redundant after just two months, which was devastating.

Thankfully, everything is back on track for me now and I’m very happy with where I am in life. I work in an industry I adore, I spend all day writing and I have a wonderful family and boyfriend who always have my back.

One thing which really helped me through the redundancy struggle was the feedback and praise I have had from you lovely people – my gorgeous readers.

Watching this little beauty blog bloom has filled me with happiness. As the number of readers grow I feel like I grow a little bit too, so I want to thank you for all your support, e-mails and comments.

I also want to give a big shout out to the PRs who have, quite frankly, made this blog possible. Wow, I sound like I’m accepting an oscar or something, but I am totally sincere. There are too many to mention individually and I don’t want to single anyone out, but I owe everything to you guys. If you didn’t supply me with a steady stream of products and keep me in the loop I wouldn’t have anything to write about.

OK, one last thing to say. There have been many people who have contributed to Beauty Guerrillas and I love them all for doing it. I couldn’t possibly test all these products on my own. Particularly wonderful has been Laura Wheat who is a truly passionate beauty blogger and I don’t know what I would do without her!

OK, so that is the soppy stuff over – for another year at least… I promise.

Joy x

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty Guerrillas

One response to “Happy Birthday To Us!!

  1. Happy birthday BG! If anyone from our course deserved success it’s you, and I’m glad you’re getting things on track, even with the nasty economic climate etc.

Leave a Reply

