Not So Grim Up North

I recently ventured back to my hometown of Newcastle Upon Tyne and whilst I was there I took the time to get to the superior hair salon, Hooker and Young for a review.

All too often, regional hair stylists get left out in the cold by the media, who tend to be more focused with London. There are a lot of talented stylists outside the Big Smoke, and Michael Young is one such hairdresser supremo.

Walking through the leafy suburb of Jesmond to the salon, I admittedly felt a pang of guilt. It had been months since I last coloured or cut my shoulder-length hair and it showed. I had vision of a stern man scrutinizing my roots and tutting at my frazzled ends. Not to mention I had no idea what I wanted to change, I knew I wanted something different but had no idea where to start.

When I reached Hooker and Young I had 10 minutes to sit in the big comfy armchair-style seat which would be my place for the next two and a half hours. I was handed glossy magazines and a drink and I felt immediately relaxed.

When Michael arrived, his talent and hair know-how immediately shone through. Just pulling his fingers through my hair made my fine tresses instantly turn into a sex-kitten, glam, bed-head style. So much so that I started wondering if I needed my hair cut after all.

After a consultation we decided together that a more uniform, lighter blonde would suit me and a short crop with length sweeping through the front section. I took a look at my boring shoulder-length locks and decided to go for it.

Michael Young is a man dedicated to his job. His attention to detail is staggering, not just with the snip of his scissors but the application of colour. The right colour, in the right places.

I stepped out the salon with not just a new haircut but a totally new look. My best features emphasised and my skin tone brought to life. I somehow look less pale and more radiant. The short crop not only suits my face shape but it matches my personality, which is a skill that can never be taught to hairdressers. It is ingrained in a person and instinctive. The best thing about the cut though, is when I wash and style it myself, every hair falls neatly into place. I may not have Michael’s magic fingers, but he has ensured that even I can make my barnet beautiful.

Every woman deserves to feel a million dollars. For me, a hair cut and colour tailored to my requirements and desires is the best way to feel it. If you are a Northern soul then make an appointment, if you are not, book a weekend break to Newcastle. Hooker and Young have recently been nominated for the presitigous British Hairdresser Award, needless to say they’ve got my vote.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

