Brown as a Nut

Written by Laura: We all want a golden glow for summer, and preferably one that doesn’t come with complementary scary skin cancer. Included in the latest raft of products to hit the fake tan market is Clarins Delicious Self Tanning Cream. With ‘unsaponifiables of cacao’ – whatever they are – designed to tan your skin, leaving you chocolatey brown and lovely, it sounded pretty tasty.

Annoyingly, the cream comes in a pot rather than a tube, which necessitates digging in your fingers or using the piddly spatula provided. It’s easy to rub in and the light-brown sheen and pleasant smell make for an enjoyable application. Once on, the cream left my skin feeling moisturised but not tacky and didn’t mark my sheets when I used it before bed.

While I may not be the most adept fake tanner, even I exfoliated and moisturised dry areas before application to create a barrier against the tanning agents. Despite my efforts, come the morning I was greeted by browny-orange heels and yellow hands. The overall tan was good however, with no streaks or patches. My main grievance though (and probably the reason I wouldn’t buy this fake tan again) was the way it wore off – clinging stubbornly to shins and around armpits, no matter how many times I scrubbed them. Overall, a good choice for careful tanners willing to put in the prep for even results.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

