Eye-Wateringly Good

Lately, my eyelashes have been more than a little annoying. Normally short, stubby little things (which also annoyed me) they have suddenly decided to have a bit of a growth spurt. But not just any old growth spurt, oh no. It’s only the eyelashes on the outer corner of my eyes that are getting longer. Oh and they don’t seem to be curling, instead they are stick straight.

I realise that this is hardly life-threatening, but you have to understand that they keep getting stuck to my lower lashes and I can constantly feel them all getting entwined. What I really ought to do is curl them, but I worry that too much clamping with those scary contraptions isn’t a good idea.

I decided that a curling mascara was the way forward and hop, skipped and jumped my way down to Boots for the wonderfully extensive mascara brand, Lancome. Feeling more than a little confused by the french names, I eventually opted for Virtuose. The curved wand appealled to me, I suppose I thought a curl in the brush equals a curl in the lashes.

When I got home I immediately removed my old mascara and swept the Virtuose through my lashes. Well, what can I say. This a great mascara. The colour is deep, my lashes look longer, thicker and natural. As for the curl, it is there but only just. I’m still getting upper and lower lashes in a tangle.

Virtuose does, however, hold a pre-fashioned curl incredibly well. A quick clamp of my Boots-own eyelash curlers and a few coats of this and my eyes look more open and my face more awake.

I might not be able to put the curlers down just yet, but until a wonder mascara lands at me feet I am more than happy.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Eye-Wateringly Good

  1. Hi,

    I totally love your blog, thanks so much for all the product reviews and info you post here. I already tried a few products you recommended and the blush powder is my fav. The other day I stumbled upon this blog: http://chiactivate.wordpress.com (dunno if the link works so i put it in “website” above. anyways, the people there claim that this face massager thingie makes anti-aging and skin care products up to 70% more effective cos it allows them to penetrate deep into the skin.

    My question is: have any of you experience with this or a similar product? Does it work or would you recommend me to try it out?

    thanks, jess

  2. thebeautyguerrilla

    Hi Jess,

    I’m so glad you like the blog. Make sure you keep checking back with us as we have a lot more to come and want to get some competitions and prizes on the go in the future!

    I’ve done a bit of a research about this treatment and although the same principle of using galvonic ions is used in some facials in the UK to aid absorption of products, it is not a mass market product. I wouldn’t like to recommended this without trying it myself. I also find the blog extremely suspicious as it seems to be just there for advertising purposes!

    I know some people who have had good results with dermarollers, which really heighten the absorption of products. I will try in vain to get my hands on one for a review for you!

Leave a Reply

