Rescue Me

Eve Lom Rescue Mask is a cult product loved by those in the know. It has has won the title of ‘best mask for congested skin’ in the ‘InStyle 100 Best Beauty Buys’ about a hundred zillion times. It is, apparently, a skin saviour.

It is no surprise then that I own a tube, let me give you my Rescue Mask Review!

As with all things that have a huge amount of hype, whether they are beauty products, films or albums, I was inevitably slightly disappointed. I had fallen victim to the good press and as I spread the strong smelling, clay based mask over my face I was expecting some kind of miracle.

I spent the next twenty minutes watching the clay dry and wondering what was about to unfold. What would happen when I rubbed away the white gunk? Would all my spots be magically vanished? Blotchy marks dissipated? Would my skin exude the health it showed at the age of 16 again? It was with great excitement that I rubbed the mask away with a damp muslin cloth.

Of course, the answer to all of my questions was a resounding ‘no’. Wish as we may, there is no such thing as a miracle product and no quick fixes in beauty. I do love this mask (now that I am over the hyped up claims) and I’ll use it once or twice a fortnight when my skin is feeling clogged and grimey. It is particularly good when it is applied after steaming the face.

The strong camphor smell of the mask is just like Vics Vapo Rub. It is fantastic for unwinding and de-stressing when you’ve had a tough day and feel rotten, which I think is half the fun of face masks anyway!

Will I buy it again? Most likely, but it isn’t on my top spot of beauty treatments.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Rescue Me

  1. mamastime

    Hi, next time you use it, try rubbing the mask off of the skin instead of using a damp muslin. I swear your skin will be left baby soft and clean as a whistle.

  2. thebeautyguerrilla

    I’ve given that a go too, don’t get me wrong I think it is a very good mask. I just don’t think it lived up to all the hype!

Leave a Reply

